Digital News Sources

These are links and subscription rates for various news outlets, journals, and blogs. The content areas covered in each of these publications will vary. Some sources cover just about anything whereas other sources will be more specific or cover a topic from a specific angle. Bias is often inherent in journalism just as it is inherent in being human – we can strive towards reducing bias, but cannot possibly be entirely unbias – that being said, as long as we are aware of the presence of certain biases, we can notice and account for them.

Don’t be dissuaded by sources that have high subscription rates… some will allow you to access a certain number of articles for free. Some also have low-cost temporary student rates, should you be interested.

Some pointers when examining sources of information:

Check the byline – who wrote the article, what are their credentials, what is their area of expertise

Check the date – how recent is the article and does the date affect the relevancy of the information to your research

Check the publisher/owner of the blog/website – money talks

Please note that the table below is searchable and continues for multiple pages.
SourcePricing Option 1Pricing Option 2
Associated Press Freehttps://apnews.com/
BBCFreehttp://www.bbc.com/news
Christianity Today$3/month$36/yearhttps://www.christianitytoday.com/
Desiring God ArticlesFreehttps://www.desiringgod.org/articles
Education Week$29/SIXmonths digital$58/yearhttps://www.edweek.org/ew/index.html
Environmental News NetworkFreehttp://www.enn.com/
Facts & Trends (Lifeway) Freehttps://factsandtrends.net/
Foreign AffairsAcademic Rate$24.95/yearhttps://www.foreignaffairs.com/
Gospel CoalitionFreehttps://www.thegospelcoalition.org/
Gospel in Life QuarterlyFreehttps://quarterly.gospelinlife.com/
Grist MagazineFreehttp://www.grist.org/
HealthlineFreehttp://www.healthline.com/
HuffPostFreehttps://www.huffpost.com/
Info Migrants https://www.infomigrants.net/en/Freehttps://www.infomigrants.net/en/
MissioNexusFreehttps://missionexus.org/
National Review$69/yearhttps://www.nationalreview.com/
Newsweek$4.99/month 5 articles/month for free$49/yearhttps://www.newsweek.com/
Premier Christianity BlogsFreehttps://www.premier.org.uk/Blogs
Relevant MagazineFreehttps://relevantmagazine.com/
Tech CrunchFreehttps://techcrunch.com/
The AtlanticAcademic Rate$24.99/yearhttps://www.theatlantic.com/
The Economist$19/12weeks (student)$82/yearhttp://www.economist.com/
The Guardian Freehttp://www.enn.com/
The NationAcademic Rate (with database)$14.95/yearhttps://www.thenation.com/
The New Republic(with database)$20/yearhttps://newrepublic.com/
The New York Times$4/month$52/yearhttps://www.nytimes.com/
The New Yorker59.99/yearhttp://www.newyorker.com/
The Wall Street Journal$4/month digital (student)$24/yearhttps://www.wsj.com/
The Washington Post$1/month (academic rate)$12/yearhttps://www.washingtonpost.com/
The Weekly Standard/ Washington Examiner$119/yearhttps://www.weeklystandard.com/
Voice of AmericaFreehttps://www.voanews.com/
Wired$5/SIXmonths digital$10/yearhttps://www.wired.com/
Zondervan Academic BlogFreehttps://zondervanacademic.com/blog
Grace Evangelical Society JournalFreehttps://faithalone.org/ges-journal/